An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

(Ticket to) Ryde!

Well, a bus ride - and a bus ticket, so that'll have to do to replicate the famous Beatles song....

I was astounded just how L O N G the Pier thingy is, it seems to go all the way to Portsmouth, or at least half way there! I'm half way along - and to the right, you can see it continuing...

As always, better in LARGE (though the stacks of Fawley refinery in the very far distance might not be visible, but they are there)

I did have to dodge traffic as this is actually the road bit that cars drive along, to get to the ferry terminal, and thus commute over to the mainland - and to London. I was surprised just how many commuters/shoppers seemed to be coming back just when I was there.

There are two of these cute little Victorian/Edwardian shelters along the pier but they are not accessible. And they are painted jet black, making photography and exposure difficult. Giguntum amounts of selective shadow retrieval going on here, whilst trying to keep the exposure on the very bright sand (huge beach and tidal reach at Ryde, hence the length of the Pier.)

Further to the right was a most astounding large and long piece of dereliction. Seems there must have been another pier or structure running parallel to this one, just massive iron girders on struts now. Beyond that is the Island's only railway line, (going to Sandown, on the southern side) its carriages looking in need as much restoration as those super derelict bits.

Despite my 10-24mm ultrawide, I couldn't quite get an image of all this dereliction that made a satisfying cohesive whole. I'm sure I will be able to make something of the many I took, but for quickness and for a more safe, holiday friendly Blip, I'll settle for this.

Another black and white

Yep. The darkness of the structure and the into-the-light super brightness meant there was very little colour anyway and black and white, as is often the case, allowed more tonal flexibility.

A super colourful one tomorrow, I promise! 

Big thanks for everything to all on yesterday's Osborne House Blip.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.