Plus ça change...

By SooB

Silky

CarbBoy demonstrating his silky (occasionally) skills to evade the defender and set up a basket.

Earlier, way earlier I had cause to reach for the earplugs when I judged that 6am was too early for giggling girls 50 metres away in the garden to be waking me up with their antics.  At a more reasonable hour I provided breakfasts and, eventually, scurried CarbBoy out to his tournament.  The Lavaur (ie our) tournament is always the last one of the year and is a season finale (with no cliffhanger) that can't be missed. 

Except I had to miss the morning... Back to provide brunch (endless pancakes) for the happy campers and persuade one girl that one boy is not worth as much as her friends ("boys come and go but your friends are for all your life" was what I might have said in French, but really it could have been almost anything given how little sleep I'd had).  My credentials as someone with their finger on the pulse had been cemented last night when they found out I have Coeur de Pirate on my iphone, so whatever I said, they were lapping it up.

The builders turned up to do some rendering of our poor broken wall, and of the big wall they built a while ago and were abandoned to TallGirl's care while I went off to take CarbBoy his lunch and spend the afternoon with him.  He was in a different team today then normal, but they gelled well and came third - which was a pretty good result I think for a scratch team.  Despite a brief almost heat-stroke incident (sunny and windy - bad combination for us northerners) he managed to keep going all day and was a star in the last match.

Home then to chat to the builders (remembering to stop offering them drinks as I think they're observing Ramadan) and collapse into leftovers-plus-pasta dinner, a bowl of Maltesers that we "forgot" about for the girls' do yesterday, and the Shaun the Sheep movie.

An exhausting day, but very worthwhile.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.