Plus ça change...

By SooB

Cups

Today seems to have lasted about a week. Early start to finish icing cakes for the school party. Then dragging TallGirl out of bed to join us on the walk that was, in a new departure, stage one of the new format end of year party.

The burning hot sun made things a bit tricky, but the pace was leisurely and the chat enjoyable.

Aperos in front of the Mairie, then barbecue lunch in the Convent gardens. CarbBoy had an issue with a boy from school who has what I think we could conservatively call 'anger management issues', but the kind intervention of all the big boys made him feel better, and the later intervention of several parents sorted it out properly.

He also had to endure the mass poetry recitation for the Dads, which went better than expected and I was allowed to stand with the Dads to video it for Mr B. He won't understand much of it, but I think it'll make a nice surprise regardless.

Games after lunch and I was in charge of the sack race. Much fun was had. Later, sack race rugby was massively entertaining, but not a total success.  It was also possibly unwise to take TallGirl on at the obstacle course. I won, of course, but only by cheating (oh come on, there's no way my hips were going to go through that tunnel).

Here's CarbBoy's continuation of the games in the garden. (He took this. All my shots have kids in them, but I think he is delighted to have saved the blip-day, as it were.)

Then a long call with Mr B and another with my Dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.