Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Is anyone home?

The swallows nest under the ramp to our dock.   I have a photo of a parent sitting on this mud, cup shaped nest on June 9 so I am looking for the kids!  Not yet. (Incubation is 12-17 days).  But there is often a bird in the nest that flies out when we walk down.    I couldn’t catch her (or him) today but I rather liked the geometry of this photo taken underneath with the reflecting light from the water.     They almost exclusively build their nests on man-made structures instead of their original choice of caves for short term home and then they all leave in the fall for winter in South America. 
Here is a brood from last august, maybe a second one?  - same place but different nest.   I'll try to catch the birds home in this one - they are so cute!


My wee weekly challenge is “home”  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.