The Lake # 2

Same lake as yesterday, but the other side.

You know how sometimes you have a grand plan, and you work it all out and you go ahead and do it - and it's such a disappointment.  That's what I did today.  I walked all the way down the Sturt Gorge to the bottom of the Dam Wall blipped last weekend.  And it was such a non-event.  I'm not sure what I expected but the walk itself was very ordinary, and I guess I thought I'd be going through bush, like the BNP.  But all I saw was weeds and more weeds, no birds and when I got to the bottom I was really disappointed.  The view was ho-hum to say the least.  And I was so pleased I didn't take Mishy because it was a very long way.  From my car to the dam and back again was just over 10,000 steps.  I don't think I could have carried Mish along with all the camera gear.  I weighed it when I got home.  The 6D plus the Tamron and the 100mm lens i my smallest case weighed 3.25 kg.  There has to be a better way.

What goes down must come back up - so I slogged all the way back up again, and was pretty well exhausted.

But the sun was still shining and I didn't have a blip worth the name, so I took myself back up to the Mt. Lofty Botanical Gardens, and was blessed by the sight of this lovely black swan against a stunning back drop of lake and trees.  He/She was surrounded by coots and ducks.  And it only took 5 minutes.  And the car park was just two minutes away.

I really wanted to do this because we should be getting showers again tomorrow, so the weather will be bletch.

So that was the story of my day - I shall sleep well tonight.

Speaking of which, it was so cold last night, I had to get up and put a t-shirt on over my nightie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.