From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

I am a much cheaper date than a starling!

I wasn't going to bother with a weekend blip at all as it was just the usual rabble of starlings and pigeons before I went to Stratford.

However, I do think the only picture I took which everyone who is unfortunate enough to be a friend via FB has already seen, deserved an airing here!

I have to admit that I took more time and effort lining up this picture, rearranging the nuts and Abbot Ale than I ever do my garden pictures. I ignored the puzzled expressions on the faces of tourists in there. The Garrick Inn (an old Tudor building) has a board outside on the pavement proclaiming that it's the oldest pub in Stratford so often has people wandering in from all over the world. Why anyone drinks lager when there is Abbot is beyond me....

Robert Dyas is a couple of doors down from the Garrick and that is where I went beforehand for mealworms. The shelf above them was so overstuffed with coconut shells filled with bird nuts and suet that loads fell down all over the floor and the feet of the couple stood next to me. We all shoved everything back on the shelf and the lady who I guess was in her late seventies confessed she'd done exactly the same thing a few minutes earlier. We stood chatting for a few minutes and then the lady asked me if I'd tried grated cheese! Apparently, you can get bags of grated cheese from Poundland and birds love it. She told me she used to breed birds of all descriptions years before and always fed them cheese. We said our goodbyes and I thanked her before heading to the pub.

Hmmmmm. I am thinking of the state of my windows already. Do I make the birds jacket spuds with cheese and beans next? Shall I provide a list of tasty toasted sandwiches and cakes for my feathered friends to choose from? Where will it all end?!!

Track? The Sensational Alex Harvey today - Gambling Bar Room Blues

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.