Great crested grebe

I know the identification of my grebe is right - I asked a regular in the bird hide and I looked it up when I got home.

I've joined the Staffordshire Wildlife Trust, and that gives me free entry to the other county wildlife reserves.  I decided to visit the Warwickshire Reserve at Brandon Marsh just near Coventry.

It was confusing.  The map looked good, but several of us couldn't work out which were the paths and where we were. Even turning it upside down, as advised, was of limited help.  But I did find my way to one of the 8 bird hides - and just watched.

Lots of wildfowl.  Reports that a kingfisher had been seen a week ago - and friendly other people.

A flash of blue - my first view of the kingfisher.  I waited and saw him again - three times.  Not clear shots but one in the extra photos to prove he was there.

It's a lovely place - and I will return.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.