Erinn Letts Photos

By ErinnL

Last Dance

Today is my 40th birthday.  Well, not TODAY.  June 3rd was my birthday and now I am finally getting time to do this post justice.  I have dreaded this day.  Not because I am turning 40.  Pshaw.  No, I have dread this day because it is the end of an era for me.  Today was my last of Music Together

I have spent 10 years bringing my children to Linda's music class.  It has been the highlight of my week.  How can a child's music class be the highlight of an adult's week?  I don't even know that I can explain, except to ask if you can imagine being given the chance, on a weekly basis, to sit in a circle with other adults and children, with no judgement, with pure acceptance, and sing and play and watch and listen.  There is no other purpose for you at that time.  You are only there to create, dance to and enjoy music with each other and your children.

I have learned to dance to music in septuple meter.  It was really hard for me, but guess what?  It's not if you learn it when you are little.  It's just normal if you experience it when you are young.  I also learned how to do a round with myself.  Yep!  It took me like three years to even get close.  It's pretty cool.  You sing one part while you clap another.  It's wicked hard... for me.  I have spent 10 years bringing my kids to music and here, in the end, I realized that I have learned as much, if not more, than them.

Have you ever had a teacher for ten years?  I mean, when else would you ever have the same teacher for ten straight years?  Can you imagine how hard it would be on graduation day?  Yeah.  I have been dreading this day.  And then, to add to it, Linda brought her 18 year daughter who just graduated.  When we started class, she was E's age! 

So, next year, when school starts, if any old MT parents have a sick kid and need a substitute parent for their other kid, feel free to give me a call.  Or if anybody wants to get together, sit in a circle, and clap out rhythm patterns, I'm here for you.  And if you are a new parent in the states, seeking the camaraderie of other parents, the wisdom of experienced teachers, music and movement activities for your child with connecting activities for home that fit the specific age and developmental stages of your child, you should definitely look into Music Together.  You will not regret it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.