I beat the Beacon!

Mick, Ross and myself at the end of the London to Brighton bike ride.  Under 5 hours elapsed time, probably around 4 hours cycling time. Unless you want to risk your life and that of others, you have to accept that this is more of  genteel ride and accept the numerous hold ups as you make your way out of London and weave your way through the throng of riders. My one goal for the day was to cycle all the way up Ditchling Beacn, and I'm pleased to say I did it. Having failed 10 years ago, I was rather chuffed. 10 years older perhaps but 10 years fitter as well.

It was fantastic to see the assortment of riders, especially those that were riding the rather more unusual bikes like the 3 wheeled chariot and the penny farthing. We passed both on route and saw them both at the finishing line. Pleased as I am with my own performance, these guys were epic. 

Several casualties passed on route and that was upsetting. Most were trivial, but I saw one guy on oxygen being attended by medics and another in the road with cuts and bruises and in obvious distress. Again, being attended by his friends. I do hope none of these were serious. 

Gorgeous weather for cycling and for strolling around Brighton afterwards and we had enough time for a nice lunch and a well earned drink before having to make our way back home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.