Pegwell bay

Thank you everyone for your recent stars and hearts, I am so sorry I haven't got round to thanking you all personally, but I have been super busy :-)
Once a thriving hoverport, Pegwell bay is now a brownfield site. 
We visited here last year and there were a lot of Bee orchids growing in patches of thin grassland inbetween the concrete and ashphelt, sadly this year has been very dry, and the number of bee orchids was greatly diminished :-( 
There was however a good stand of Southern Marsh orchids, which was odd considering it was so dry, and Kidney vetch was everywhere. 
I love this site, the juxaposition between what was and what is is amazing, so I have chosen a picture of a set of bollards, once restraining traffic, now slowly blending into the background, overtaken by nature. 
My extra shots today are a Beautiful china mark moth, a Goat moth, and a Privet hawk from Sandwich bay Bird observatory's moth trap...which was amazing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.