Too Late for Ascot

... but still in time for The Wedding! Trying out a few different 'looks' after having had my hair cut this morning ...

EDIT: to add a brand new ditty! :-)


Weddings and Worms

I'm going to a wedding soon,
and growing quite excited.
I'm Mother of the Bride, you see,
so had to be invited!

The question to decide on is
to wear a hat or not?
And if so, then what sort of style?
I want to look red hot!

Flowers and animals on hats
used to be the fashion;
Let's think, now: for what creature
do I feel a happy passion?

I don't think wide brims suit me,
nor yet a plain flat cap,
No, this can be my wedding hat;
this woolly worm's the chap!

I know my daughter will be pleased,
although I'm no clairvoyant:
as Mother of the Bride, I think
I need to look flamboyant!

But if she doesn't like it
and my fashion makes her squirm,
I'll simply take my hat off
for the photos – minus worm!

© Celia Warren 2015

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.