Spoiler Alert!

... That is, if you're currently reading The People of the Mist by author, H. Rider Haggard. This review castigates the author for sinning "against all the laws of romance" -- as the hero "does not get the jewels in the end"! The italics are the reviewer's who claims "we can hardly bring ourselves to write the words so strongly do we feel about it"!

Yes, I've been clutter-clearing again, and this cutting comes from the Manchester Guardian (now The Guardian) of Tuesday, January 1, 1895. I was scanning it to discover why it had been kept and read this en route to spotting a family ancestor's wedding announced in the personal column. It rather amused me.

It's put me off though. Think I shall save my six shillings for another day.

Although I have heard of the author, I've never read any H. Rider Haggard.
Have you?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.