The One Hill

Had to go to Glasgow for a meeting today and on the way back I stopped several times to take photographs.

The name of this hill, which I knew and thought I could confirm easily, proved elusive when I got home, so I'm left looking stoopid, like someone telling a joke and forgetting the punchline!

It's north of Kilmartin, on the right-hand side of the road before dropping down the bealach, and was known by my daughters and their friends - who passed it in the school bus twice every day - as the One Hill, because of the outline of the numeral one in the bottom right corner. Looks more like a sea-horse to me, but what do I know!

On the summit is a circular stone wall which was built comparatively recently as the base for a replica prehistoric hut and used in a Gaelic language film, whose name has also vanished from my addled brain. The timber and thatch top was set fire to on completion of the fillum. Apparently, I was told, some of the residents of Ardfern were signed up as extras! So if nothing else, there's a couple of conundrums to be solved by local Blippers! This, photographed on extreme telephoto, is my extra shot of the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.