Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Support

I'd agreed to spend two nights with my friends Michael and David, mainly because Michael had an appointment in the hospital in Galway this morning and David had decided that we should go afterwards to Moran's On The Weir for a bowl of their famous chowder.

Michael was only an hour or so in the hospital, there for preliminary work for phase two of his radiation treatment and to discuss plans for his entry to the trials for the new wonder drug. We stopped off at the hospice in the hospital grounds afterwards, which is where I spotted this rather lovely sculptural piece on a sideboard in the dining room.

I have to be honest and say that it was a long way to go for a bowl of soup, nice as the famous chowder was, and I was a bit anxious about getting back to Galway in time for my train back to Dublin. But back we got and onto the train I safely got seated. It was a slow journey for some unannounced reason (the train only got up to full speed when we left Portarlington) and we were half an hour late getting in to Heuston station.

I'd left the car in the long-term car park and had to go from there across the city to meet Carl's god uncle for whom I'm doing some design work. After an hour there, I popped over to Carl's place for a bite of food and a chat about our upcoming holiday. I should have done some work when I got home, but I was tired out after the time in the Galway/Roscommon wilds and didn't do anything productive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.