Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

As the Milky Way Sets, the Aurora and Sun Rises

With predicted auroral activity just before sunrise, I decided to be out in time to catch the rays and see the stars set.

The temperature was biting - as I took this the mercury had dropped down to -7ºC, plenty cold enough to make me shuffle my feet on the spot to keep warm.

This capture is with the fisheye lens, allowing me to fit in the edge of the sunrise in the east, as well as the red beams of the Aurora Australis, all under the arc of the Milky Way as it disappears into the morning light. As you can see from the glow of the foreground snow, the daylight was not too far away.

In the other pics, you'll see the first light breaking over the horizon, as well as the first rays hitting the top of Little Mount Peel.

As I write, my Aurora alert is telling me conditions may be good, so I think I'll head out. Look out for another Astro shot tomorrow Blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.