Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Tiniest of Tuesdays...

This amazing phenomenum occurs every summer right after all the hummingbird babies fledge and descend on the garden...they seem to lose all fear of me and will allow to approach to within a couple of feet.  I took this shot from a distance of about 2 feet, using the 105 macro lens on the D750.  It is slightly cropped, but otherwise untouched.  I hope that it will qualify for Walking Wombat's Tiny Tuesday challenge...

This is a female hummer and she is perched on our little ficus (we move it out to the deck every summer).  You can get a pretty good idea as to her tiny size by seeing how she looks against the ficus leaves.  She's about 2.5 (6-7 cm) in length, slightly larger than the males.  I know she is a female rather than a fledgling only because her feathers are worn and she is a bit smaller than the babies at the moment (having spent the last 4-5 weeks brooding and feeding them, at the cost of her own nourishment).               

It has been raining on and off all day, so my trips outside have been quick and I haven't strayed from home - which is fine because there is so much happening in the yard at the moment.  I've posted 3 other macro shots starting HERE on Flickr - butterfly, gathering of plume moths and (ALERT) a very close up of a spider.  Don't look at the last one if you're afraid of spiders.

I ordered a new Kindle and it arrived today.  I got it specifically so that I could take out ebooks from my local library using the 3M Cloud app - and, let me tell you, there is NOTHING easy about getting this to work.  I'm ready to throw everything through the window right now!  

Thank you so very much for all the kind comments, etc on my mono bee yesterday!  

TTFN,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.