It's happened!

Today I feel very lucky. For the first time since I adopted Raoul, my beautiful corn snake, in January last year, I have seen him shed his skin.

He does it every few months, and usually at night when nobody is watching. It happens a few days after he has gone 'blue' - actually rather dull and milky looking - then briefly resuming his normal colour ahead of the shed. It's a strange process.

I checked the vivarium last night, and again first thing this morning, and no sign. Then I looked again at 7.15 am on return from running my daughter to the station to catch her train to work, and the shed was just beginning! The whole process took about 15 minutes while he gradually slithered around the vivarium, flexing his muscular body in a wave motion to slide out of the papery skin. It measures almost 59 inches long.

Raoul is now his usual vibrant colour and in lively mood again after a few sedentary days. He'll doubtless now be feeling peckish and looking forward to his fortnightly feed this weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.