Acanthus

I've been a bit adventurous today!  I went to work this morning pondering on what I was going to do for Wide angle Wednesday Floral.  I took a camera with me to work in the hope that some inspiration or something flowery might leap out of the walls around school, but then I had an IDEA!!!!!

William Morris.  Wightwick Manor.  I decided to go!  Fortunately, it was only about 20 minutes drive from school so I wasn't setting out on a great expedition but it did feel like a little adventure.  I have been there once before but that was just before closing time on a cold afternoon before they had opened the upstairs rooms.  I shall have to go again now to look at things properly instead of just focussing on the William Morris wallpaper and fabrics or the De Morgan tiles.  It really is a fascinating place and I think all of you who are within a 100 mile radius MUST go there!

It has taken me ages to decide on which shot to use but I finally selected this one of the Acanthus Room which has the original William Morris Wallpaper and Dutch "Monkey Flower" tiles on the early Georgian-style fire place.  The quotation is from Tennyson's "In Memoriam".

My extra shot today came a close second. It is the washstand in the Visitors' Bathroom which has "Tulip and Trellis" tiles designed by Morris in 1870 and made by the De Morgan Pottery in the 1880s.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.