Shieldbug and a couple of gardening mishaps

I bought a clematis and other plants yesterday so spent the day preparing beds and planting. While gardening I spotted this shieldbug which popped in to be today's blip.

The bed that the clematis was going in hadn't been touched for many years and a clematis needs a very big hole. I got a little way down then encountered what I thought was solid concrete and found the same further up so phoned F for advice. He arrived with a metal bar and discovered that the "concrete" was a mass of big stones and bricks so I borrowed the  bar and spent hours digging them out.

Eventually the hole was dug and filled with compost and soil. Though the plant had been soaking for a long time it was very tight in it's pot. I gave it an extra squeeze to get it out and snapped one of it's two stems!

The second mishap was when I was digging in a different place and the prong of the fork went through my shoe. It could have been worse as it has bruised my toenail but not broken the skin.

I must be careful when I cook my tea. Perhaps I should go for a salad.

If anyone is interested, my son Shropshirelad (an occasional blipper) has been fascinated by The Battle of Waterloo since a small boy. At the weekend he went to Belgium to the bicentenary celebrations of the battle and has uploaded two photos of the event.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.