View From The Bus Stop.

This cycle shop brings back many memories from my childhood. Establiished in 1895 by John Albert Townsend, he made his own brand of bicycles in his workshop in Norfolk Street, Cambridge, where my dad bought me my first 3- wheeler bike. Along there also were Bilton's the butcher, Mason's the chemist and Miss Gladys Aylott's hairdressers who, in the 1950's used to plug my mum's hair into the electric light fitting overhead, having taken out the bulb. I was scared of going there as she would light a taper and burn of my split ends. Then my bus arrived, ending my reveries of the past. I couldn't get the shop in the picture due to parked cars, which I find spoil many scenes which I would like to photograph. Especially the quaint streets of Victorian houses, with rows of bins, yellow lines and signs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.