Die Schulbank drücken

I was warned by Blip a day or so ago that I was about to reach the 1095 mark. Seems rather a strange anniversary but apparently, it means three years of Bliping. For almost all my school life I was bad at maths but something doesn't add up given my first Blip was on 21st February 2011.

However, we will go along with celebrating. Well not quite - it's about time I apologised to all the Blipers who have posted unanswered comments, stars and hearts over the last months. I have been a very bad Bliper for which I ought to write 100 times - "I will answer all Blip comments punctually in future". I thank you all for taking the time & effort. Although seldom answered, I do read them and even often visit your journals but simply don't comment myself - as soon as I do I get so involved that it takes hours.

I had tried to find a Blip based around the theme "Family" to thank the Blip family but sadly nothing occurred to me. The next best thing was the "Allgaeu Swabian Village School Museum" in Daxberg village near Erkheim. The title of the Blip literally means "Press the school bench" a common phrase meaning go to school and often used when a grown-up is sent by their employer on a training course - I have to go and press the school bench next week.

The museum sets the single classroom of the time around 1948/9 where 8 school years were taught at the same time. Far from showing "The good old days" it does quite the opposite showing the hard discipline, lack of materials and poverty of children and teacher. Sadly only open on Sundays and Bank Holidays so didn't get a view inside.

Had been for a dog walk below Daxberg in a long last summer type day. During the day it got better from hour to hour. Can only be down to the Queen being back in her ancestral homeland. She is going down a storm in the press. Sadly she isn't coming to Bavaria this time otherwise I would have sorted out a new tour of family points of interest.such as Salem Public School about an hour from here which both Prince Philip and Charles visited. The founder of this school, a jew, had to flee the Nazis in 1933 to the UK where he was influential in grounding Gordonstoun. The Germans very much hope the most European of the realm will do what (little) she can to keep the UK in the EU - I suspect apart from giving Mr Cameron a good lesson, she will have to remain quiet.

Popped into the Penny Supermarket in Erkheim to get some milk forgotten yesterday - now I know why Angie says yesterdays Norma supermarket is the cheapest around. Found Penny now also has the Kerrygold Cheddar/Irish cheese on offer but here the 150g cheddar costs 1.99 Euros, Norma it was 1.59. However I did also see something new and very "British" on display - Heinz Baked Beanz - but to my horror in a plastic 1kg jar and described as "Fridge Pack" for 2.99 Euros. Actually, not a bad idea as Angie also likes a portion of beans from time to time, opens a tin but only uses half of it putting the remains in the fridge on the assumption I will spot and cook them myself. Sometimes I don't with unpleasant consequences. So despite the price, bought two jars.

Back home started up the pool heating again after ages of standstill. Was amazed it still has 20°C despite the single figure nighttime temperatures and teen daytime ones. Now due to get warmer day by day and heading towards 30°C this time next week.

Tonight posting on time. I will do my best to be a better Bliper and now off to the kitchen for a good portion of Beanz on Toast but rather than a cup of PG Tips (actually Barry's) to accompany it, a bottle of Franziskaner Weissbier.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.