No 178 & 179: Mediterranean Gull and Little Gull

I wondered what I would do in the unlikely event of getting 2 unblipped birds in one day, now we can post extra photos. Well, today that happened and as numbered i.e. unblipped species of bird are few and far between nowadays, and as both my new birds were gulls, I decided I would use them both. My challenge, my rules. After all, they are both gulls.
We had a long and brilliant day at Minsmere, then a lovely meal at a local hostelry, followed by a dusk. Trip to Westleton Heath to see if we could hear, and dare I say, see any Nightjars. Well, the churring started on cue, all around us, as the sun set and the moon appeared in the sky. We stood and listened for a while then made our way back to the car. We were quite close when we saw something swoop above our heads. We could hardly believe it but it was a Nightjar. We moved a few yards out into the open, and waved our hankies and slapped our thighs, and for a few minutes, 2 birds hovered and swooped not far above our heads. A really magical experience!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.