Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Love It Or Lose It

A sheet of stickers and some button badges arrived in the post this morning.  They were from my former union, BECTU (the Broadcasting Entertainment Cinematograph and Theatre Union), which is running a campaign in support of the BBC in its struggle to avoid a further 5-year freeze on its income from the licence fee.  As a former frontline member of staff who has witnessed at first hand the disastrous cutbacks the last freeze in 2010 continues to necessitate, I can assure you that a further licence fee freeze until 2021 will ultimately destroy the BBC and all the amazing work that it does producing something for everyone in its output, from local radio through to the four nations of the UK and beyond to the entire globe via the World Service and the internationally acclaimed BBC website.

If, like me, you treasure the BBC and all it does for the United Kingdom and the wider world then please look at and sign the Love It Or Lose It: Save the BBC online petition.

As the BBC itself is asking you in its current TV trailers, "If You ❤ Something Let It Show".


PS:  My blipfoto is of the sheet of stickers that BECTU sent me, which I've processed in Andy Warhol's pop art style.  I'm sure he wouldn't mind my plagiarism to draw attention to the plight of such a huge supporter of the Arts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.