Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

"I Got An Itchin' On My Nose...

and and baby, I just can't scratch it.  Oooo..."
-Diana Moss and the Lopremes

Poor Curve-billed thrasher.  The wind was just a-kicking up a little storm on his feathers and I bet he was getting a little desert dust under there.  I know it makes my scalp itch.  So I imagine it might make the birds a little irritable, too. I loved this one as he stands on one leg trying to scratch his bill.  I got a lot of funny photos of him today.  I put a few more up as extras. 

You can see how the wind was playing havoc with him as he tried to stand on the wall.  He was preening and itching in so many places the third photo shows some feathers stuck in his beak.  Unfortunately, all of the shots I took of him trying to scrape them out of that curved beak of his were so blurry they were beyond saving.  Pretty hysterical to watch in real time, though. 

I guess I shouldn't be laughing at the plight of the poor birds in a bit of trying weather.  What am I saying?  They are my morning entertainment.  As long as they are not in mortal danger, I will enjoy their antics for as long as I can stand the sun and heat.  I made it until 9:00 am today!
                                  (In a heap of sweat.  LOL)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.