Tarawera Times

By Megl

A fantail....very much alive!

After my rather sad little photo yesterday of the dead fantail, I tried very hard this afternoon to get one in flight....they move so fast and after over 60 attempts, I gave up and opted for this.
Finally this afternoon the strong cold southerly that has been blowing in across the lake for the past few days settled and it was so nice to be down at the lake. There must have been about 20 fantails flitting around catching the little midges that were in the air. I would really like to get one in flight, so will keep trying.

I am off to Raglan tomorrow to spend the weekend with my camera club buddies, for a winter weekend retreat. Looking forward to getting some wild West Coast surf, the forecast is a little damp at times but sure we will have fun.  Local Raglan blipper richardg will be joining us on Saturday giving us the thumbs up on the best places to be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.