The Light From Within

"People are like stained-glass windows. They sparkle and shine when the sun is out, but when the darkness sets in, their true beauty is revealed only if there is a light from within." - Elisabeth Kubler-Ross

As I have mentioned in several of my postings this past week or two, it's been a very strange and difficult time for my family, with my oldest sister in the hospital. She is in my heart and in my prayers constantly.

These days have been a mixture of darkness and light. Some days the light feels like it's present. And I try to stand in the light, absorb it into me so I can shine too, for those who need me. But other days, the future seems to stretch ahead like a long, dark corridor.

Sometimes amid adversity, it's just a daily game of holding space and time for someone, keeping all the normal things that need to happen, happening.  The tasks come down to these: keep your light shining, keep it positive (if you can), and keep on moving forward . . . even if we're just dancing in the dark.

The tune: New Jersey's favorite son, Bruce Springsteen, with Dancing in the Dark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.