Not Letting Me Out of His Sight!

Coming home from vacation is always a mixed bag. Of course, it's sad that vacation is over, especially if it was a really good one and the weather was great (as it was for us). But it's wonderful to sleep in your own bed, drive your own car, and have access to your own food and fridge and clothes and beauty products and everything else. If you have gone away somewhere without your family (and/or your beloved Tabbycat), the greatest thrill of coming home is that it brings the joy of reunion with those you have missed. Such as husbands and Tabbycats.

I arrived home from the beach at midnight on Monday night, and since I anticipated a late arrival, I wisely scheduled Tuesday as a day to work at home. I caught up on e-mail, addressed some of the more critical issues, and finally had a chance later in the day to unpack and do some laundry. I had a constant sidekick who followed me around throughout the day. He was short and furry, with whiskers and ultra-white paws and bib. I think you know who I'm talking about.

It's a small household but very tight-knit, and Dexter adores attention. He hates it when one of us is not home to love him and shower him with affection. He especially hates it when that person who is missing is me, as apparently it had never occurred to him that I, of all people, would ever leave him. The report from my husband was that Dexter did really well this time; didn't spend any time (as he did in prior years) crying at each closed door in the house, asking to be let in to see if somehow I was, in fact, hidden away somewhere inside the house.

In this particular photo, Dexter the Tabby has climbed into a box of bags that I keep by the kitchen. I don't know why but this unglamorous location is a favorite summer hangout of his. I can't imagine it's awfully comfortable, but his look seems to indicate that it is. He has a good view from there of the kitchen, and especially of the table where I often set up my computer. You can see that he is not letting me out of his sight!

The song to accompany this photo is a coming-home song: John Denver, with Back Home Again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.