Red Squirrel

By JJRW

When I Grow Up I Want to Bee ....

... a bum-ble bee! lol

Here's a bigger bum!

Have had a pretty busy day. The car's been in having some work carried out, and me stuck at home getting lots done. The car wasn't returned until nearly 5.30, then I had to run the mechanic back to the yard about 5 miles away and I still needed to drive into town for some supplies! So I've only just finished dinner at 8:20. Phew .....

While dinner was cooking I had a mooch round the garden looking for something to blip - with the very strong winds which have been blowing all day I wasn't feeling too optimistic. But I spotted this weeny little bee (about 3/4" long) having a long, leisurely browse on the flower head of a Ground Elder plant. It continued to browse that one flower head for about 20 minutes despite my constantly shoving my camera lens up close. Due to the frequent gusts of wind, of many shots I took only 3 were blippable - but I loved this bum shot best!

Ground Elder really is very pretty, it's such a shame it's also a damned invasive nuisance - the Romans, who introduced it to the UK as a food crop for their troops (as well as growing like crazy it's apparently very nutritious - though I can't say I'm tempted to try it!) have much to answer for!

Now I've eaten and blipped, perhaps I can finally have something resembling a decent Saturday night ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.