Jim

I had several jobs to do today which involved the dentist, the mill shop and the hairdresser (sounds like the intro to a very odd joke!) so I combined them with some exercise and took a circular walk around the villages.  After Wilsden I made a poor route choice through some fields which had not been mown (soggy legs) and then took the Northern Trail across Hewenden Viaduct.  When I reached the beginning of the viaduct I said morning to an elderly couple who were enjoying the view from a bench.  Next to them was a two seater tricycle.  I was kicking myself because if Mr John had been with me, he would have asked if he could blip them but I wimped out.  However, at the other end of the viaduct I fell into conversation with Jim who makes use of his free bus pass to visit new and local places.  He lives several miles away from Cullingworth but had once lived in the village and brought his children up there.  He had a wry sense of humour and told me tales of working in the local cement factory (now demolished - the whole area a building site for what looks to be a huge number of houses).  For an 81 year old he was very sprightly and we walked together to the end of the trail where I summoned some courage to ask if he minded being blipped.  Jim invited me to tea when I was next through his village and told me not to have any breakfast because he serves a hearty lunch!

From there I walked up to the mill shop and stocked up on wool for the primary knitting club, had the biggest toasted teacake in the world then walked home via the hairdressers!

Tomorrow the Duke of Edinburgh and I off camping again so there'll be no internet.  Normal service resumed late Saturday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.