The Strid

This is the place on the River Wharfe just north of Bolton Abbey where the wide river shoots through this narrow gorge. I spent a couple of hours here yesterday (backblipping) hiding behind a rock awaiting the arrival of our Duke of Edinburgh group who were on assessment so hadn't to be aware of my presence. I was stationed in this particular spot because, although very lovely, it is also very dangerous with strong currents and undercurrents. There have been several fatalities over the years, mainly when young men decide to try and jump over but also as a result of people slipping on the wet rocks around the fall. I have to report that when our group of fifteen year olds arrived they were totally oblivious to the attraction and walked straight by it and me!

Two minutes later my camera battery died, and guess who had neglected to charge the spare?! So no more picturesque blips from a lovely day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.