Ebley mill wharf – night fall

Camilla came to work at our house today so we could plan out the implications of the various types of communications which we need to deliver for the Neighbourhood Plan until the end of the year.  We made a very good start and I must credit her with keeping me on my toes.  We did have a long preamble with coffee and chat and a debrief about the SWAPT meeting which she chaired yesterday which we both thought was very successful.  Then it was a quick but delicious salad and cheese lunch to get us going.

I managed a bit of housework before she arrived, but after she left I din't get much done other than a few emails to finalise another area of my voluntary work for the council.  I must be mad, don't you think (I know several of you do).

After Helena knocked up a quick supper, I had to go to watch and listen to a meeting of the Strategy and Resources committee of Stroud District Council held at their offices at Ebley Mill.   There was an important item on their agenda about a key area in the middle of Stroud Town which is central to the concerns of the Town council as well as the Neighbourhood Plan.  After nearly three hours the got around to discussing the land at Wallbridge.  

I think the result was as good as we could have expected.  I was pleased to note that the involvement of the emerging Neighbourhood Plan was given due consideration and proper respect.  This issue has been featured in the local newspapers this week and a lot of lobbying has been going on.  Hopefully we can now engage with other interested parties to accurately assess the development issues that have been raised.

After leaving the large District Council chamber at about 10-15pm I walked about fifty yards to where the newly regenerated canal passes by Ebley Mill complex.  On the left are old warehouse buildings converted into various small businesses.  On the right are wholly new apartment blocks built on the derelict land which had been abandoned for years.  Even the line of the canal had been completely infilled and was the car park for the Council until two years ago.  It just shows how things can be improved, which is what the Neighbourhood Plan hopes to encourage in the heart of Stroud town.  I took this longish exposure by resting against part of the bridge, but without a tripod.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.