The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Lacock Abbey NT (Friday 19th June 2015)

I found myself in Reybridge yet again on Friday, while on my way to Lacock. As I was driving over Rey Bridge I noticed a heron fishing in the Avon to my left, and a pair of swans gliding among the reeds  on my right. I parked nearby and returned on foot, but the heron took off and landed in a field some distance away. The swans went under the bridge and became masked behind more river plants but I did get a few shots, including the Extra. I was pleased as it was the first time I had seen swans on that stretch in a couple of years, when it used to be a regular nesting site.
The purpose of my visit to Lacock was to see the exhibition of photographs Travel Photographer Of The Year in the Tudor courtyard of Lacock Abbey NT. I much enjoyed them despite the glare making them uneasy on the eye at times.
I didn't see the Abbess on this occasion but I did see a small tabby cat in the Botanic Garden that I may have photographed two years ago, and two cats in the courtyard: a friendly handsome black and white cat who wandered over to a white and tabby that was sheltering from the sun under a bush.
The Botanic Garden was created by the photographic pioneer William Fox Talbot after he came to live at the Abbey in 1827, by converting the old stableyard. These blooms especially caught my eye, growing outside the greenhouse.

L.
26.6.2015 (1205 hr)

Blip #1603 (#1853 including archived blips)
Consecutive Blip #000
Day #1914
LOTD #837 (#958 including archived blips)

Two Visits To Reybridge, 16-19 June 2015 (Flickr album)
A Visit To Lacock, 19 June 2015 (Flickr album)

Gardens series
Lacock series
National Trust series
Flora series
Extras series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell - Ain't No Mountain High Enough (recorded 26 December 1966 (basic track), 29 January (Tammi Terrell vocal) and 1 February 1967 (Marvin Gaye vocal), all at Hitsville Studio, Detroit MI)
As used in the film Guardians Of The Galaxy, which I rented on this day.

One year ago:
The Old Forge

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.