Snapped

Afraid it had to be another bird picture today.
 I was sitting drinking my cup of tea early this morning when there was a tap at the window, just a gentle tap and I looked out to see a fledgling sitting on the bench recovering. It soon flew off and landed on the arbour.
I went out side and was lucky enough to see not just one for three babies. I was nt sure if they were chiffchaffs or willow warblers but after seeing the parent and hearing it's call I've decided they were willow warblers. I had the help of a new BTO guide book that Mike brought me back from London and David's good ears to distinguish it's song that we listened to on YouTube.
One had a very close shave with the sparrow hawk who zoomed in really quickly from no where and came almost face to face with me. I really thought it had caught one but it had escaped and was just abit shocked and sat on the doorstep recovering. The parent was calling for it and continued to catch flies and feed it. I managed to capture this shot before it flew off in search of more.
Still more fledglings arriving including more greenfinches. Every bird I see has a mouth full of flies, bugs and worms even though it has been colder than normal this seems to have helped some of the  smaller creatures.
I'm hoping the sun will be back out later :) Now what do I do for the rest of the day now that I've blipped ?
Have a good weekend everyone :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.