Today's Special

By Connections

Good News, Doubled!

I still prefer reading the print edition of The New York Times when I have the chance, so I was pleased to be able to purchase today's at Crema, our favorite coffee shop and bakery here.

The headline news that the Supreme Court upheld the Affordable Care Act, which has provided treatment and care to millions of uninsured Americans, was good news indeed, but it was superceded by what I read on my iPad shortly after getting up today.

*** The United States Supreme Court ruled today, June 26, 2015, that the Constitution guarantees the right to same-sex marriage. ***

Same-sex marriage was already legal in 36 states, and now that right will extend to residents of every state.

I'll be buying tomorrow's New York Times as well, and treasuring that even more momentous headline, one I had not expected to see in my lifetime. What a difference this Supreme Court decision will make to so many people!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.