Out to Lunch

I met a friend for lunch at Ciao Thyme Cafe today, where we enjoyed the beautiful touches in both the dining area and everything the menu offered.

I didn't have one of the gluten-free tartlets seen above, filled with melon cream and topped with cherries, white chocolate, ricotta whipped cream, pink peppercorns, and a candied mint leaf.

And I didn't have one of these charming little jars filled with layers of chocolate mousse, chocolate chip cookie crumbs, strawberries, and whipped cream, and just to take it over the top, a bonus chocolate hazelnut sandwich cookie.

I seem to have gone off sweets, although I did have a small taste of my friend's chocolate chip cookie. What I was really craving was this salad of roasted beets and carrots in a citrus chili vinaigrette, topped with housemade hazelnut dukkah, yogurt, and local greens. And the satin-smooth potato leek soup topped with grilled raab pesto.

After saying "Let's do this again soon!" to my friend, I went home briefly to drop off the half of my salad that I didn't finish at lunch (later to become my supper) and talk about evening plans with Phil before I headed out again for an extra physical therapy appointment and shopping for a few necessities. I don't want to jeopardize the loosening-up that the physical therapist coaxed from my "problem" hip and leg, so sitting--and commenting--will be limited this evening. I know you'll understand.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.