A New Day…If You're Gay...

…and if you are not. The United States Supreme Court decided today that the constitutional phrase "equal rights under the law" now applies to gay couples who can now be legally married in all fifty states. There are still a lot of people who think they they have the right to impose their views on marriage, abortion and other issues of personal freedom on everybody and I say to them, "You are entitled to your views. If you don't believe in same sex marriage or abortion, by all means don't do it, but don't force your views on those who believe otherwise."

 I  share the joy I see on the faces of couples who have felt like second class citizens, who have been prevented from adopting their children or visiting  a partner in hospital, l and I finally have one reason to say that I'm proud to be an American. Another reason came yesterday when the same court overruled a the constitutional argument against the Affordable Care Act, which guarantees health care to all Americans.

This weekend is Pride weekend. It's going to be a party!

In other news: Will and four friends…his posse--they have known each other since kindergarten--set off last week for a trip to Southern California ostensibly to tour colleges. Dana just texted me the picture I have put in the extras titled SoCal College Tour 2015. Those guys have their priorities!
This group also features in my extra shots on 5/9/15.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.