Stunning Day

This morning Flying and myself took a drive up to Lake Clearwater. We left well before dawn and witness a wonderful sunrise on our drive up there. We had a number of stops for shots before we reach and lake. It is about 150k from Christchurch up in the Southern Alps. 

I surprised there was so much snow around. I had to drive very carefully because of all the black ice and snow.. luckily we had no mishaps. My car isn't a 4WD!

When we reached the lake the temperate was -7c and sunny. It was cold but beautiful. I didn't do too much walking around in the snow as I didn't want to fall and damage my knee any more.

Both Lake Camp and Clearwater were frozen over. The Baches are between the two lakes. You can see in my extra shots people ice-skating on the lake and also Curling.

One man past us and he had just ended a cross country ski around the lake and said it was much harder than he expected. You can also see a shot of him as well in my extra shots.

We also got talking to another woman that was going over to ice-stake on Lake camp and she told us how two windows in their van blow out overnight because of the cold. They had been coming up there for years and it had never ever happened before. It had snowed over night, then  froze.

I was going to do a collage as I had some many great shots, but it all looked to messy so decide just to put this one shot up and add some extras.

It was a magical day and we both had a fantastic time.. thank you very much Flying for your wonderful company.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.