Peekaboo....

Back to work for Steve today. And two clingy boys who I'm sure are coming down with something, or fighting off some mild virus for me to deal with. Steve is going straight from work to this event that he's running the PA/AV for, so I won't see him until very very late I imagine.

He also took the debit card and the car today (we discussed it, he didn't just take off with them!) so I have been pretty much stuck at home with the boys. And no laptop to keep me sane either, as it is still poorly. Still, we have got a lot done today, various laundry jobs done, tidying up, meals etc. I even finished off my latest drawing which I really love. The words on it mean a lot to me: "In this house, we do second chances, we do grace, we do mistakes. We do real. We do I'm sorry, we do funny. We do loud really well! We do hugs, we do family, we do Love." Then I excelled at this homemaking lark and made a very very decent chicken broth / soup thing from the stock I made last week. I say decent. It was GORGEOUS. I made it to heat up some leftover ham in, to have with rice - a particularly ad hoc sort of dinner, as I always struggle when it's just me I'm cooking for, but I'm glad I made the effort! Ben had his usual, and Charley showed his irritation with being offered rice and scattered it fairly liberally around his bumbo. He opted for yet more strawberries. He's going to turn into a strawberry milkshake at this rate.

He's had so many bumps today poor thing. I guess that's just going to happen really. He's been doing his sitting up thing for just over a week. Getting a bit cocky ;-) but lunging and falling lots. Getting himself stuck on his tummy, lots. And a great big faceplant this afternoon which didn't half make him yell. Speaking of yelling, Ben has plenty of mishaps of his own. Today's most painful one was his carton of animals opening, leaving him holding the lid while the carton fell on his foot. After he'd recovered from that he learnt how to check it was closed, and to close it properly before picking it up!

I suppose I ought to go downstairs now. Both boys are asleep already. I have some of that massively rare commodity: peace and quiet, time to myself. And I'm wasting it lying in bed writing my journal!!

This pic shows Charley in his donut, which is out now and again to give him a bit of respite from losing his balance while he's learning to sit up. And Ben's new toybox is in the background - the idea is that as Charley is heading towards being mobile, Ben needs to learn to keep his toys tidy. Especially his precious ones, and ones that Charley may break or that may hurt Charley.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.