Ben play games, yeah?

Yeah yeah ok, if it gives me 5 minutes' peace....

"Ben can't do it mummy. Mummy do it!!"

*sigh*



Ben went to school this morning. Late. My fault. Have not had a good tummy day today. But it meant that in order to attempt to settle him down before leaving, I got to sit through "carpet time" and listen to the good morning song and the days of the week song which makes Ben's little singsongs a lot more sense of. (Please feel free to rearrange that into better English syntax, my brain is not working properly.) But he still didn't want me to go. He was happy enough to be there, just wasn't happy that I had to go - and I had to go, because I had work to do (and felt ill). So I left him playing with the water table outside and when I collected him later Kathy his keyworker said he'd been a different Ben today - happy, confident, playing with the older boys! He's just going through an "I'm not happy to be left by you or daddy" phase. Possibly because he's out of use to it, with such a long break over Easter which is still lingering a bit.

Anyway I managed to get the invoicing done that I needed to get done, and spent the rest of the time feeling sorry for myself. Picked Ben up, he wasn't the slightest bit interested in me. Didn't want to come home, but was happy to leave school. Tried to get him interested in the possibility of putting wellies on and going to find some puddles to splash in but that interest lasted only as far as two doors past our house when I realised I'd gone too far, what with being engrossed in conversation with Ben. Ben was not impressed that we were turning round to go home. But once we were inside he demanded his coat off, demanded a bowl of cereal, got cross with me for doing it wrong, and was generally a rude little boy.

I gave up around 1pm and stuck a DVD on and told him I was going back to bed. Once I'd been sick and was just cowering under the duvet he arrived upstairs wanting cuddles, and once his shoes were off he climbed into bed for a cuddle. Wouldn't let me take his jumper off. And then he fell asleep. Fully clothed, under the duvet. At least I'd remembered to open a window but still - he, and my arm, and the bed, were soaking when we woke up two hours later..


I think I'm exhausted. Simply exhausted. I think that's why I feel so rough, why this cold is taking so long to get over. I feel like I've not really caught up on sleep since Steve went camping.



Ooooohhhhh kay.



I need to go to bed. I can't write any more!
Tomorrow is a new day. Please be better than today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.