Today's Special

By Connections

Heat Seeking

Me, not the flower -- although you may wonder why, given that I am now seeing heat, I purchased what I did today.

It's been gray, windy, and cold again, but the sun appeared late morning as I was heading home after taking photos, including today's blip -- and shopping -- at the Bellingham Farmers Market. Sunshine in June automatically makes me think of ice cream, and as a friend is coming over for supper tomorrow evening, I figured that the local strawberries I'd just bought would go nicely with some local ice cream, so I stopped at Mallard Ice Cream on my way home.

It's worth going in just to see what interesting new flavors the Mallard crew is offering and how they're interpreted artistically on the board. The list is so big that you'll have to look here and here to see them all!

Not wanting to overshadow the fresh berries, I opted for a pint each of "super vanilla" and strawberry, but couldn't resist also bringing home a pint of lemon ice (one of my favorite flavors) and one of chocolate black currant ice cream, which sounds odd but is really delicious.

That brief glimpse of sun didn't last long. Writing this with chilled fingers and thinking about putting a fleece jacket on, I really wish I'd brought home some of Mallard's outstanding hot fudge sauce as well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.