Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Poppies

It was a lovely bright summer morning and I decided to head out on my bike for a long ride, something I haven't seemed to be able to do yet this summer.

I set off in the cool, but bright morning sunshine, and I headed out through the village, upto Thurlaston before dropping back down towards Desford. I spotted some poppies growing in the grass verge, so I decided to take a drinks break there.

I carried on into Desford, and found a cycle path which took me a different way into Peckleton. After a brief stop outside the church I carried on through the quiet lanes and pulled to a stop to watch a Buzzard circling on the thermals, before it drifted away across the fields.

I noticed a patch of poppies growing in the field, so I took a couple of pictures of which this one I liked best.

I carried on into Kirkby Mallory, and then down the long hill back to the bypass and then along back home. A very satisfying 16 miles. I then spent the rest of the morning sat outside in the sun finishing reading the book I was currently reading, Extraordinary People by Peter May (who happens to be a blipper!).

Have a good weekend everybody, enjoy the sunshine!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.