Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Bird on a stick

It was a dull drizzly morning so I changed my plans and headed to Brandon Marsh reserve so at least I could shelter in the bird hides.

I headed straight to the hide which overlooks the Kingfisher pool. I carefully opened the flap and saw....

nothing. The pool was empty. I scanned around and saw a Heron in the edge of the reed bed hunkering down against the rain. There was an occasional visit by a Coot and a chick. Then there was a flash of turquoise low across the pond arcing high into the trees.I had seen a Kingfisher, I knew I was in the right place, and it was only a matter of waiting.

I spent the next half hour waiting in the rain with my ever present companion the Heron(see extra), and then suddenly the flash of turquoise returned and landed on the strategically placed branch overhanging the pool. I quickly fired off some pictures, before he dived into the water and then flew off back into the trees. I waited another half hour before moving hides, but the Kingfisher didn't return.

So we have a bird on a stick picture, but what a bird!

Many thanks for the comments and stars on yesterday's Poppy blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.