Five-spot Burnet...

... or possibly a Narrow-bordered Five-spot Burnet. According to the internet these two are easily confused.

I've been busy looking through my Iceland pictures today, and then I popped out to the meadows between the showers to get some fresh air and look for a blip. I was intending to try to capture a picture of the approaching rain clouds, but these moths were busy flitting around and their bright red wing spots caught my eye.

I quickly changed to my macro lens and waded into the long grass (and thistles) to get closer to the moths. There were two settled on one flower head, and behind there was a thistle with 6 moths sat on it.

The forecast for tomorrow is better, so I might get out for some photos. Enjoy the rest of the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.