The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Reg and the art of escapology

Wifie has a saying "that what you practise, you become good at".  I hope it isn't true of Reggie, because he was practising hard his escapology today.

I learned two things from observing him.  He has developed the rock climber's technique of bridging to climb up a corner between the step and the wall.  He was perilously close to making it before falling backwards onto the top of his shell.  The second thing I learned, which answered a long-running nagging doubt, is that he is very adept at righting himself when he becomes inverted.  I saw him do it twice.

There is now an overhanging rock over the corner.  For all his Don Whillans-like strength, his centre of gravity is actually quite central, and there is no way he can lean back and pull himself over it.  But where will be the next weak spot in our defences to test?

When I offered to provide Reggie with a home three years ago, I really had no idea just how much worry he would cause.  Quite the opposite of the ever faithful and well-behaved Gus.  But you can't help but admire his attitude and determination.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.