Esoteric

We were going to head off to the Peak today to join Dave climbing but unfortunately he is suffering badly from hayfever and had had a rubbish night’s sleep. So, Rich and I went hunting for an esoteric Yorkshire crag instead.  

It’s a long time since I’ve walked around Grimwith Reservoir and both times, it lived up to its name.  Today, however, it did not.  The sun shone and despite the briskish wind, it was pleasant walking in shorts.

We headed around one side and then took a path past a pheasant farm and a couple of ruins, up through some seriously leg beating pathless heather and along to the crag.  It was such a pretty place and everywhere looked lush; we were both glad we’d headed here. 

After visiting the Ilkley Cake Boutique for the second time in two days, Stephania’s food set me up for a cycle ride, Rich for a rest and Little Dog for a sleep.  I went over the Otley hill, then Langbar, and I still felt OK to come back via the Cow and Calf.  As I was heading up the latter, a couple descending on bikes cheered me on but I knew I was in trouble because when I tried to grin, my face shook.

As I was starting to question whether I would need to take a breather near the car park a lovely lad gave me some more encouraging words, telling me he wouldn’t be able to cycle it.  As I gave another shaky smile and pushed on, I realised I had lost the ability to speak.  Eventually, I managed to tell him so but, by then, I had reached the telegraph pole and I knew I’d be OK.

Rich is on with the barbecue. It’s the first one of the year which is always a risk as he burns off last year’s residue.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.