Chihuly Gardens and Glass

Today Arvin and I went on a trip to Seattle with a group from Whatcom Community College. My teacher and another artist lead the group. We took a bus down to the Space Needle and took a tour of it. Then we were on our own for lunch. Arvin and I got a quick bite and coffee at Starbuck's. But the best part of the day was our visit to the Chihuly Gardens and Glass.

Dale Chihuly is a local from Tacoma who brought the art of glass to the Pacific Northwest and way beyond. He is a phenominal artist and an amazing creator. In 2012 in a place near the Space Needle in Seatle, the city and Chihuli created a museum to celebrate his art. It is an amazing place. Even though I had seem many of the pieces in a documentary, seeing them in person was a totally different experience. I was blown away. (No pun intended.) The photo here is from a large room with the entire ceiling covered with class pieces illuminated from above. The pieces and the refractions they make on the walls of the room are so amazing. I could have stayed there for hours. I'll add a few more photographs from the day in extra photos. (Anybody else running out? I am.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.