Radiance

Hot day. We were all sweating. Living here in the Pacific Northwest, I've become acclimatized to the coolness of our weather. So a day in the low 80s with more than a bit of humidity feels really hot and sticky. You'd think I never lived in the East. I did and never did adjust to the real heat and humidity you get there. But now I'm spoiled. But I digress.

Lynda left early this morning to fly back to California. My sweet brother Steve came at 7 am to take her to the airport so I could do my usual busy morning getting Arvin ready for the 9 o'clock bus and feeding cats, birds and us. Thank you Steve!

Arv got off easily and I relaxed for awhile until it was time for me to head to my book club for our monthly lunch and book discussion. We had a packed house today. Cathy hosted and we all brought salads and other yummies. We had our usual great time together.

When I got home Arvin was there and we spent some time together before heading out to a gathering of folks from the Alzheimer's Society of Washington. Janet invited us all to gather at her condo and we all met, care givers and their spouses, and had lovely snacks and then salmon and asparagus for dinner. We had lively conversation.

Now it is the end of the day and I am happily basking in all that wonderful sociality and bulging from all the great food I ate. A good day for sure. Arvin had a great time too.

Oh yes, about the photo. It is another of the many day lilies that grow along our driveway. I almost blipped the raccoon again today. He was up the cherry tree again. I was watering the lilies and give him a bit of a shower. He just moved further up the tree. I do think that he is our resident raccoon, the same one I've been spotting. Last night when Steve left, the raccoon was out on the driveway. It was dark so we couldn't see him but we could hear him growling. Ooops. We will watch our step when we go out at night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.