PROVIDENCE QUARTER

I went into town this morning, M&S, Art Shop and wallpaper shop, and came home with everything on my list. I am not about to decorate. I begged an out of date embossed wallpaper sample book for gelli printing. I did enjoy the look on G's face when he saw the book though.

This was once the Skipton Building Society's offices, now "an exciting new development, of modern and stylish apartments". I went for a job interview there as a receptionist many years ago. They had a revolving door into the reception area and I pushed the door the wrong way. No wonder it was stiff and made a lot of noise, but once I got it moving it seemed better to just keep going than try to reverse back out on to the street. I arrived in the building rather hot and bothered, to find a line of silent and immaculate receptionists staring at me.

I didn't get the job.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.