Escape At Last!

This morning my wonderful son gave up his Sunday morning lie-in to dig my car out of the snow. It still had 30 cms of snow on it and was separated from the gateway by a deep drift. He also made a path around the house and along to the woodshed.

We went for a short drive. The countryside was pretty, but five days after the snowfall it was no longer magical. My garden has a lot more snow on it than the open fields.

Later we assessed the damage to trees and shrubs in my garden. There are a lot of branches down, or worse still, snapped off and hanging high up out of reach. When the snow clears there will be a lot of work to do. Some lower plants are still buried. The sage put in an appearance today, but the thyme, catnip, parsley, and all my outdoor vegetables are covered.

I am feeling like an an old crock. My left shoulder has been sore for some time, limiting what I can do with my arm. Now, due to the heavy reliance I have placed on my walking stick, my right arm and shoulder are also sore.

In this shot the southern end of the Torlesse Range is on the right, and the southern end of the Craigieburn Range is on the left. The Craigieburns look smaller, but that is because they are much further back into the Alps. The face below the left-hand peak is Porters Skifield.

One year ago: Sunset droplet shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.