Fox-and-Cubs Pilosella Aurantiaca

This self-seeded flower has appeared in my garden for the first time this year. A Blipper has identified it for me as the Fox-and-Cubs. It is a bit windy here today but I did manage a few sharpish shots. It is native to alpine Europe. Brought to Britain as a garden plant in the 1620s it escaped into the wild in the 1790s.  The flowers grow in clusters where the first flower is larger than the surrounding opening buds – hence the name Fox-and-Cubs. (You can see that quite clearly from my blip).  It is very attractive to all kinds of Bees and is also known as Orange Hawkweed or Hawkbit - folklore says that the Hawk used the wildflower to improve its eyesight. I have loaded a couple of extras as well because I am quite attracted to the flower just like the Bees and Hawks LOL! It is a perennial so I can expect it to visit for years to come.  Have a nice day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.